Thursday, February 4, 2010

The Antwerp 6

The Antwerp 6 in 1988

The Antwerp Six refers to an important group of deconstructionist fashion designers graduating from Antwerp's Royal Academy of Fine Arts between 1980-1981. They shared a radical vision that established Antwerp as a notable location for fashion design. The breakthrough occurred in 1988 as the group rented a truck and set out for London fashion week with respective collections. Together they showed deconstruction as a making and unmaking of forms and codes including exposing the backstage and form of presenting. Below clockwise from top left Ann Demeulemeester,
 Marina Yee, Walter Van Beirendonck,
 Dries van Noten,
 Dirk Van Saene, Dirk Bikkembergs.

Walter Van Beirendonck

Dirk Bikkembergs

above 1991 and below 2009

Ann Demeulemeester

1989 and below F 2009
F 2009

Dries van Noten

F 2009

Dirk Van Saene

Marina Yee

No comments:

Post a Comment